Registering a Vehicle from Out of State
To register your out of state vehicle in Florida you will need to bring the following documents to our office or, you can request the documents be mailed to you so you can complete the transfer by mail:
- Out of state title certificate. If your title is being held by a lien-holder, you will need to request the title be sent to our office so a Florida title can be applied for. We have a form you can pick up at either office to send to your lien-holder.
- Proof of insurance in the form of a card, policy or binder. Must be Florida insurance. Identification is required for notarization of signatures. All registered owners must be present to sign new title applications.
- Vehicle identification number & odometer disclosure statement. The identification number on your vehicle must be verified by a law enforcement officer or FL. notary. This form is available in any auto tag office and must be completed prior to registering your vehicle.
default VIN Verification Form 82042
- Proof of sales tax paid. If you have owned your vehicle for less than 6 months, you must show proof that you paid equivalent to our current rate of sales tax or the difference will be collected. Sales tax is calculated on the purchase price less any trade-in allowance. The sales tax rate is 6%.
The appropriate fees may be paid by cash, money order or personal check drawn on a local bank.
- To register a vehicle for the first time, the initial registration fee is approximately $225. If you have recently purchased the vehicle out of state, you may be subject to additional fees.
Transferring a Florida Title
If you have a Florida title and you would like to transfer the title and register any used automobile, truck, motorcycle, trailer over 2000 pounds, or mobile home, you must bring the following documents and information with you to any auto tag office.
- Your Florida title must be signed by seller to buyer. Buyer must sign if there is space for buyer's signature.
- The selling price and odometer reading and date the odometer was read must be filled in on the title.
- Proof of Florida insurance in the form of a card, policy or binder.
- 6% sales tax will be collected on the purchase price.
- If you have a current Florida license plate from a vehicle to transfer, you will need to bring the registration certificate with you. The fee is $7.85 to transfer the license plate and $75.75 to transfer the Florida title.
If you do not have a Florida tag to transfer, there is an additional charge in addition to the initial registration fee. The other fees that will be collected are for the title transfer, and for the license plate. After 30 days a late fee of will be charged. Fees may be paid in the form of cash, money order, or a personal check drawn on a local bank.
If you want your title mailed to you, instead of having it held electronically, it will be an extra charge. If you want the title printed the same day, it is an extra charge.
Identification is required for notarization of signatures. All registered owners must be present to sign new title applications.
Renewing Your Tag/License Plates
Remember your tag expires at midnight on your Birthday. Therefore, it is important that you renew your tag on or before your birthday. To renew your tag in person, bring the following 3 items to our office:
- Your reminder notice, previous registration or tag number
- Proof of Florida insurance (insurance card or policy) and all owners Florida driver's license numbers
- Payment in the form of cash, money order or personal check drawn on a local bank
For renewal fees see the HSMV Fee Schedule. Note: After the 10th day of the following month of birth, late penalties are added.
Mobile home tags expire each year on December 31st.
If you did not receive a courtesy reminder notice you may come to any of the auto tag offices with your registration from the previous year or your tag number.
To renew online go to: http://www.gorenew.com
Lost Tag or Vehicle Registration Information
If your license plate and/or decal is lost or stolen you must report the theft to your law enforcement department. You will need to bring your vehicle registration to our office and the stolen report from Law Enforcement agency.
If you have a theft report of the stolen tag from Law Enforcement there is no fee for replacement.
If you do not have the report from a Law Enforcement agency, a replacement fee will be charged.
If you have lost your vehicle registration, you will need your tag or plate number and/or decal number and personal identification to purchase a replacement.