Hiring a Contractor
In addition to, or in lieu of, state licensing regulations, there may be local city or county licensing/permitting laws or rules which are applicable to the professional services you are seeking. Please visit the appropriate county and/or city web site to learn more about any local requirements.
State of Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation
To find out if someone is licensed and in good standing with DBPR, click here
To file a complaint against a DBPR licensee, click here.
To perform a search for public complaint information on individuals or entities who performed, or are alleged to have performed unlicensed activity, click here. To obtain downloadable files, click here.
Single Family Residence Application
This is an application for a building permit for the construction of a single family residence in Hernando County.
All items listed on the attached Checklist must be submitted with your completed application. Your application cannot be processed if any one of the items listed is incomplete or missing. An application for any proposed work becomes void if not picked up within 6 months.
There is a non-refundable application fee to be paid at the time your application is submitted. This fee will be credited toward the cost of your permit, if the application is approved. Many of the forms required to be submitted with this permit application are required to be notarized. Notary services are available in our office for an additional fee. The notary fees are non-refundable and are not credited toward the cost of your permit.
You may be required to pay an impact fee when the permit is issued. An impact fee is a one-time assessment placed on all new development or construction.
The Hernando County Development Department does not enforce deed restrictions. It is the owner/contractor's responsibility to verify any deed restrictions that may apply to the property. Copies of your deed restrictions may be obtained from the Hernando County Recording Office.
Notice of Commencement
If the valuation of the job is $2,500 or more, a NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT (NOC) must be recorded at the Hernando County Recording Office and posted on the job site. A certified copy of the recorded NOC must be mailed, faxed, or hand delivered to the Development Department prior to the 2nd inspection. Please read the important information on the Construction Lien Law included with this packet.
Mechanics Lien Law
Per Florida Statute 713, you are subject to attachment of your property if persons who work on your property are not paid for the labor, materials or other services that may be provided in connection to your project.
This means that if your hire a contractor and he/she does not pay his/her suppliers, and subcontractors, you may be held liable for any unpaid bills.
In order to alleviate this situation, it is suggested that you ask your contractor for a “Release of Lien” form, which eliminates your property from the threat of lien proceedings.
Once work has begun, if partial payments are requested from your contractor, ask for a “Partial Release of Lien” to cover all supplies and labor expended to that point.
Before the final payment is made to your contractor, make sure your contractor obtains and provides a copy to you, any releases he has obtained from all parties involved with the project. You can have this stipulation placed in the contract so that you are not held responsible for obtaining these releases yourself.
For more information, you can call the Construction Industry Licensing Board of the Department of Professional and Business Regulation at 904-727-6530.
A list of required inspections will be given to you when your permit is issued. It is the contractor's (owner/builder's) responsibility to ensure that all required inspections are made prior to proceeding with work on projects. Upon issuance of your permit, work must begin within 6 months. If work is not begun within 6 months from permit issuance, or work is suspended or abandoned for a period of 6 months, your permit will become invalid and will be void. Be advised that lack of inspection activity for a 6 month period is considered suspension or abandonment of the permitted work.
Additionally, it is the contractor or owner/builder's responsibility to ensure corrections are made to items that have been red tagged, the red tags paid, and re-inspections performed and approved prior to proceeding with work. Failure of the contractors or owner/builders to request and receive re-inspections before proceeding with additional work may result in disciplinary action or a fine against the contractor or owner/builder.
Thirty days after the last final inspection has been completed, inspectors will make a site inspection for compliance of right-of-way sod, final driveway, and landscape requirements.
A valid permit may be extended past the 6 month time frame if an extension is requested in writing and justifiable cause has been demonstrated. Additional fees apply for an extension of the permit. Invalid (void) permits must be reactivated before work may continue under the permit. Additional fees apply for reactivating a permit. A building permit is only valid for a period of 2 years from date of issuance. Any permit not finalized or voided within 2 years is expired. Construction work not completed pursuant to an expired permit shall be re-permitted, and additional fees will apply.
Hernando Co. Dev. Dept.
NOTICE IN ALL FLOOD ZONES:
As of January 1, 2000, two (2) elevation certificates are required for the construction of a single family residence. The first elevation certification is required during construction, and may be an elevation certificate or a certified letter signed and sealed by a land surveyor or engineer. The second elevation certification is due when construction is finished and must be an elevation certificate.
To ensure that the home meets the required elevation, we will continue to place a hold on the proper inspection at the time the plans are reviewed. This hold will be removed upon receipt of the first elevation certification. Also upon receipt of the first elevation certification, the Certificate of Occupancy will be placed on hold and will not be released until the second elevation certificate for finished construction is received.
Airport Animal Services Business Development Development Department Clerk of the Court Code Enforcement
Community Relations Public Works Health & Human Services Board of County Commissioners
Housing Authority Human Resources Library Metropolitan Planning Organization Parks & Recreation
Property Appraiser Planning Department Purchasing Supervisor of Elections
The Bus Tax Collector Tourist Development Veteran Services
THIS SITE IS SPONSORED AND MAINTAINED BY:
Hernando County Board of County Commissioners
Technology Services Department
20 North Main Street, Room 363, Brooksville, FL 34601-2849
Send comments or questions about this website to: firstname.lastname@example.org
Hernando County Privacy Statement